1st Cheam Heading



Group Structure /The Executive Committee / Meeting dates / Uniformed Leaders /


NEWS Full Story...

2015 Calendar Full story

Snaggles Adventures Full Story...

Cubjam 2016 Full story...

Duke of Edinburgh Award Volunteers Full Story ...

Scouts Canals Full story

Daughter of The Big 3 Reunion full story...

Roll of Honour full story...






1st Cheam Scouts neckerchief





Group Structure

Our last President the late Mr Ian Smith joined 1st Cheam Scout Group when he was invested as an eight year old into Wolf Cubs on 1st August 1942. In time he moved on to Scouts and led the Peewit Patrol to the first winning of The Surrey County Camping Trophy in 1948 by Sutton and Cheam District. The troop have subsequently won the trophy on a further six occasions the last time was in 2001.

Ian Smith gained the prestigious Kings Scout Award in August 1951. In the same year he was selected to join the patrol chosen to represent Sutton and Cheam at the 7th World Jamboree in Salzkammergut, Austria. He completed time as Senior Scout troop Leader and in Rovers but was then required to undertake National Service in the Army for two years. He returned to the group in 1956 as Assistant Scout Master and was awarded The Medal of Merit for his commitment and good work in 1968.

The pressure of work in 1975 saw him step down from a warranted position but his commitment to 1st Cheam continued as an Instructor and the editor/ producer of The Group's News Sheet. A job he carried out for seventeen years. He accepted the role of President in 2003 on the untimely death of Mr Malcolm Faircliff in 2002.

Ian finally stepped down as President in June 2014 as he was unable to continue in the role as he could no longer drive.

It was with a heavy heart that all who knew Ian had to say their fond farewells in May 2015.

  Gone home symbol  


We have Four Vice Presidents who support the group. They have all been members of 1st Cheam for a long time, working for the good of the group. Many stories, anecdotes and accounts of scouting escapades of the group over many decades would be recounted if these members get together.

Mr Ken Russell, Mr John Golledge, Mr Mike Helps, Mr Nick Sergeant

Mr Colin Stafford (RETIRED)

Group Executive Committee

The Business of running a Scout Group is undertaken by the Executive Committee which is made up as follows

Chairman Mr Simon Haysom
Treasurer Mr Mike Smith
Secretary Allison Broadbent

Committee Members are made up of parents, friends and section Leaders.

The committee meet approximately five times a year to organize, arrange and authorize payment for the necessary inspections, repairs, maintenance tasks that need to be undertaken to keep our assets in a safe and reliable condition. PLease contact us via this Web page or at the HQ if you could help support The Group on the executive

The next Executive Meeting is:-

at 20-30 in The Alcorn Room

The Uniform Leaders

Group Scout Leader - Mr Jonathan Long
Assistant GSL - Mr Paul Sharp

Beaver Scout Leader - Mrs Helen Bowling

Assistant Beaver Leader Mrs Susan Dunbar

Cub Scout Leader “A” - Vacant

Assistant CSL Miranda Ormesher


Cub Scout Leader “B” - Vacant

Assistant CSL - Ms Mazia Yassim

- Mr Michael Page
- Mr Peter Baker

Scout Leader - Mr Jonathan Moritz
Assistant SL

- Mr Bob Haysom
- Mr Mark Laming
- Mr Gary Bowling



All sections have some young Leaders and helpers but rely on the support of parents to run a full programme.


1st Cheam Scouts neckerchief





News return button

Scout Association Logo About Us | Site Map | Contact Us | ©2008 1st Cheam Scouts